Our Garden

tomato-flowerThis isn’t a recipe post of any kind.  But it should definitely still be considered a food post considering I am growing vegetables!  This is our garden that is growing bigger every day.

garden-1You will notice our lovely “homemade” fence.  We have the peskiest squirrels ever here in Charleston.  They are just that, pests!  They loved our garden from day one.  A place to bury their nuts and grab a bite on a plant in the process.

garden-2I did some research online and took advice from another blog to feed the birds and squirrels.  BIG MISTAKE.  Yeah, the birds were happy, but the squirrels proceeded to take the peanuts I put in the yard and bury them in the garden!!! AHHHHHH!!!  To top it off, they swung on a   that I hung outside of my kitchen window and it fell to the ground and broke.  Birdseed was everywhere!  The little punks loved it too.  They just sat around the circle of birdseed munching.  All I have to say is that I doused the spilled birdseed with cooking oil and a TON of cayenne pepper!  I hope their little hiney’s were on fire the next day.  🙂

tomato-flower-2

We then fenced in our garden allowing it to still be watered but hopefully to keep the birds and squirrels out.

Last week I walked out to inspect the garden and noticed that there were fresh holes around the tomato plants and pepper plants.  Funny, how are animals getting in when the garden is fenced?  Kevin decided to set up our web cam looking out the window facing the garden, so that we might catch some action.

Well, no need for that!  Later on that day when I was working out, I looked out the window and saw a squirrel eyeing our garden with a nut in his hand.  He was walking around the garden just staring at it.  He then proceed to lift the fence and crawl under with his nut in his mouth!!!  What the heck??  I then ran out the back door with a broom in my hand racing for garden.  Yep, crazy lady chasing a damn squirrel!

The squirrel went crazy!  After he realized that he was trapped in the garden with no where to go and no idea how to get out he started pouncing off each of the four posts holding up the fence to the garden.  He finally managed to weasel his way under the fence and get out before I had the chance to whack him.  Ugh, it would have given me great pleasure to whack him to.  How dare he chew on my plants and bury his pecan nuts in my garden!!

He proceeded to run up a tree and watch me…or his nut that he left behind on the ground.  I moved his nut a few feet away from my garden, ran inside and grabbed some bug poison, then doused his nut in poison.  Take that you punk! After I went back into the house, the squirrel proceeded to come back down the tree and circle my garden again.  I ran outside, let him have it again, then returned to the house.  He did this about two more times, then gave up.  Thank goodness!

See, I am not a violent or mean person, but if you mess with my garden and the possibility of growing my own vegetables I will get you!  Don’t dish it out if you can’t take it.

lettuce

0 Responses to “Our Garden”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

