Good Intentions

a-sea-of-cake-popsSo I jumped on the wagon just like everyone here in blog world and made a form of cake pops and cupcake pops. Looking back on it, what the heck was I thinking?  Yes, they are cute and petite, but definitely not what I thought they would be. Let’s just say that I do not have the patience for these darn things.   Some of you who read this will not like my review, but I am entitled to my own opinion.  So be warned now that this is not a great review!

Aside from making them myself, I thought they would be something fun to send to my little sister to bake and make for Easter.  I sent her a package complete with candy coating, toppings, cupcake mold, etc.  She made them on Easter with our cousin, grandma, and my parents.  They all had a good laugh over decorating the cake pops agreeing that they did not taste very good.  I am glad that at least my gift was full of humor!

I started out with the intention of making the cake balls on the sticks, then when I realized what a pain in the rear they were, I decided to break out the candy mold and turn the remaining balls into cupcake form.   Not only do I feel like they were a waste of money, but they tasted like raw cake and were definitely not worth the effort.

easter-egg-pops

Here’s the review.  I decided to make one batch by a recipe I found on the web.  Everyone knows this recipe.  The one with a boxed cake mix, baked then cooled, crumbled up and the addition of your choice flavor of frosting.  I also made a batch with homemade cake and homemade frosting.  Well once you added the cake and frosting together, the ending result tasted like raw cake batter.  Yuck!  I even made sure not to add too much frosting.  Even though the homemade version tasted better, it was still not good. (If you notice, none of these cake pops are bitten into to show the inside.  I could not bear to bite down on them again after spitting mine out.)

mcc-cake-pops

Creme de Menthe cupcake pops (above).

On top of the nasty cake “dough”, you dip your cake ball in the candy coating of your choice.  Yum….partially hydrogenated goodness!!!   I knew this buying the candy coating, but never realized how horrible this stuff tastes.  Seriously like wax in your mouth.  For my homemade cake balls I chose to dip them in  real dark chocolate and real white chocolate…not the candy coating junk.  They tasted better, but you still bit into what tasted like raw cake.

row-of-cake-pops

So aside from the ending cake pops tasting like wax coated raw batter and chocolate covered homemade raw batter, they took forever! I could have assembled, crumb coated, and decorated three wedding cakes in the time it took to make these darn things.  Overall they looked cute and put a smile on everyones face that saw them.  My mother told me straight up that they were nasty.  A good friend of mine told me that they tasted like the cardboard cake box.  Everyone else smiled and said “oh, these are good!”.  Either they were being polite or they had no idea what good dessert tasted like.  Will I ever make them again?  Absolutely not.

1 Response to “Good Intentions”


  1. 1 lil nicki May 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Omg! I know these lil things! CAKE POPS!l


Leave a Reply

