Like my buns?

burger-buns-2This past week has been gorgeous! The weather has been warm and sunny…perfect grilling weather. It can only be a teaser from Mother Nature since I am sure we are getting rain this weekend. Oh well, in any case, Kevin and I decided to grill out.

I had wanted to make my own burger buns for so long since I was sick of reading the long list of ingredients on bun labels at the store. This is the same reason I don’t buy bread anymore. I am sick of reading labels!

These buns were so delicious and definitely worth the extra step. They were easy and required very minimal effort. Even if you are afraid of yeast you CAN make these buns! Oh, and don’t let anyone tell you that it is better to buy your buns rather than make them. Yes, for 50 people I would probably buy the buns, but if it is just for your family, why not truly “WOW” them?

Beautiful Burger Buns

Makes 8 large buns

Ingredients

6 to 8 ounces lukewarm water

2 tablespoons butter

1 large egg

3 ½ cups (14 3/4 ounces) all purpose flour

¼ cup sugar, I used 2 tablespoons honey + 2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 teaspoons salt

1 tablespoon instant yeast

Method

Mix and knead all of the dough ingredients—by hand, mixer, or bread machine—to make soft, smooth dough.

Cover the dough, and let it rise for 1 hour, or until it’s doubled in bulk.

Gently deflate the dough, and divide it into 8 pieces. Shape each piece into a round 1″ thick (more or less); flatten to about 3″ across. Place the buns on a lightly greased baking sheet, cover, and let rise for about an hour, until very puffy.

Brush lightly with egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water), and sprinkle with sesame seeds or onion flakes.

Bake the buns in a preheated 375°F oven for 12 to 18 minutes, till golden. Cool on a rack.

Source: King Arthur Flour

5 Responses to “Like my buns?”


  1. 1 niki March 11, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    these look better than store bought for sure! nice job. (great pics too)

  2. 2 Jennifer March 12, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Where in Charleston can I pick up that Saratoga PB? Thanks!

  3. 3 feastonthis March 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Jennifer, I have to order mine online through their website. It is: http://www.saratogapeanutbutterco.com/index.asp
    I have yet to find it in Charleston. I am going to check at Whole Foods to see if they can order it for me.

  4. 4 Jennifer March 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    ah thanks… I don’t do ordering PB online, unfortunately. =(

  5. 5 Katie March 13, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    These ARE beautiful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

