Angel Food Cake

angel-food-cake-standEvery week I have been asking my amazing husband, Kevin, to give me some sort of cooking or baking challenge.  He normally just starts naming off any food he has ever.  This week he named one of his all time favorite desserts, angel food cake.  Surprisingly I have never made an angel food cake…ever!  It was just always so easy to buy one instead.  Now, after making one for the first time, I won’t ever buy another one again.  Evidently his mom used to make strawberry shortcakes using angel food cake when he was little.  He told me that he wanted the “soft and light kind” like his moms.

angel-food-cake_simple1

Did mine pass the test, you ask?  While we were eating I asked, “Is it good?  Is it better than your mothers?”  Before he even had the chance to answer I told him “It better be or I’m not making it again!” .   We both laughed.  (Linda, if you are reading this, you know that yours will always be his favorite! 🙂 )

Angel food cake is a delicious, elegant, low calorie dessert.  It also tastes great with any fruits and whipped cream.  We enjoyed ours with lemon curd, strawberries and hand whipped vanilla cream.  Making an angel food cake is very simple.  How hard is it to whip egg whites?  I will warn you, though, that you will definitely need your 6 quart Kitchen Aid or a very large bowl and your hand mixer.  My egg whites whipped so high that they just about came out of the mixer by the time I stopped it.  I could easily take an off set spatula and level off my mixer bowl.  It was that full!!  I actually had to transfer my whipped egg white mixture to a very large stainless steel bowl in order to fold in my sifted flour/ sugar mixture.

I bought an angel food cake pan specifically for this recipe.  I do own a bundt cake pan and after making my first angel food cake I now realize that I probably could have used this pan or any cake pan for that matter.  I think they would even be cute as little cupcakes with a lemon buttercream and strawberry on top.  No stealing my ideas, now.  I plan to make these for an upcoming birthday!

angel-food-cake_golden

Angel Food Cake

serves 12

Cake

1  cup  sifted cake flour

1 1/2  cups  sugar, divided

12  large egg whites

1  teaspoon  cream of tartar

1/4  teaspoon  salt

1 1/2  teaspoons  vanilla extract

1 1/2  teaspoons  fresh lemon juice

1/2  teaspoon  almond extract (I omitted this and added extra vanilla extract instead.)

Method

Preheat oven to 325°.

To prepare cake, lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour and 3/4 cup sugar, stirring with a whisk.

Place egg whites in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at high speed until foamy. Add cream of tartar and salt; beat until soft peaks form. Add 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time, beating until stiff peaks form. Beat in vanilla, juice, and almond extract (if using).

Sift 1/4 cup flour mixture over egg white mixture; fold in. Repeat with remaining flour mixture, 1/4 cup at a time.

angel-food_batter

Spoon the batter into an un-greased a10-inch tube pan, spreading evenly. Break air pockets by cutting through the batter with a knife. Bake at 325° for 55 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Invert pan; cool completely. Loosen cake from sides of pan using a narrow metal spatula. Invert the cake onto a plate.

angel-food_baked

Source: Cooking Light, April 2003


7 Responses to “Angel Food Cake”


  1. 1 Michelle March 4, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    There is a recipe on the back of the Betty Crocker (or maybe Dunkin Hines…) box to make like a angel food cake triffle. I cook the angel food cake in little bread pans since I’m just going to break it into little pieces so it didn’t matter what it looked like.

    But I also have one of those cake pans that makes the top cake like a bowl so you can add a filling to it (If that makes sense). The angel food cake does NOT work in that…it’s all over the bottom of my oven. 😦

  2. 2 feastonthis March 4, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Michelle, an angel food cake trifle sounds delish! I bet it would taste fantastic with pastry cream, whipped cream and some sort of strawberry or raspberry layer.

  3. 3 Jessica March 4, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I love Angel food cake! I will have to try this recipe! Looks great!

  4. 4 Lil nicki March 5, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    :-] It’s making me hungry! Looks yummy!

  5. 5 Newbie March 3, 2010 at 5:45 am

    Thank you so much for your recipe. I just tried it out, very yummy. I baked in cupcakes pan and got exactly 18 cupcakes.

    This is exactly what I’ve been looking for: a chewy texture.. that’s what I really like. I cut down the sugar, therefore the cake is just perfect , not too sweet.

    appreciated,
    Newbie

  6. 6 Lyda April 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    Quality content is the main to be a focus for the people to go
    to see the site, that’s what this site is providing.


  1. 1 Lemon Curd « Feast on This! Trackback on March 4, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

