Oatmeal Is Not Boring

morning-oats-2

I love oatmeal.  I can’t get enough of it!  I think about what my morning oatmeal will be like every night before I go to bed.  (Yes, I know that sounds crazy.)  Oatmeal is a blank canvas and anything can go on it. You can add anything from fruits, to nuts, to dairy…even leftover muffins or cookie crumbs.  I like to add all sorts of toppings!

I normally begin my oatmeal in the microwave when I am in a hurry, but on days that I have more time I cook my oats on the stove top.  I begin with 1/3 cup of old fashioned oatmeal combined with 3/4 cup of water cooked over low heat until the water is almost absorbed.  Why so much water?  Well, after I cook my oats down, I have just enough liquid left to absorb the ground flax seed that I add.  I stir in about 1 tablespoon, although you can add more if like.  Next I stir in my wheat berries and pour my oats into a bowl.

Now comes the fun part….toppings!  Who says oatmeal is boring?  Obviously they do not play with their food.  I normally add in whatever fresh fruit I happen to have in the house.  A little of this…a little of that…a pinch of this…you get the idea!  I like to add plain or vanilla Greek yogurt to my oats as well.  This gives a nice creamy tang that pairs well with the fruit.  I also add another kick of protein with my favorite crunchy almond butter.  My goal is to pack as much protein and deliciousness into every bowl so that it holds me over well past lunch time.  How late can I go until my stomach starts growling?  How late can you go?  Think that the cereal you ate this morning will hold you over?  Try oatmeal and let me know how it goes.

morning-oatsIn my morning bowl:

1/3 c. old fashioned oatmeal

3/4 c. water

1 Tablespoon ground flax seed

1 Tablespoon wheat berries

3 small strawberries, diced

1/3 c. blueberries

1 Tablespoon Greek yogurt, vanilla

1 Tablespoon crunchy almond butter

1 Teaspoon almonds, ground

2 dates, chopped

1 Response to “Oatmeal Is Not Boring”


  1. 1 Michelle February 25, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm. This bowl of oatmeal looks a-maz-ing. I enjoy starting my mornings off with a delicious bowl of oatmeal as well! My favorite, so far, is oatmeal (and sometimes I’ll mix in a little bit of my protein powder), peanut butter, and a banana on top. Yum!

    I need to thaw out some of our blackberries and blueberries and start adding those on top too!


Leave a Reply

