The Sweetest Dog

So this weekend, this cute little thing showed up in our yard.

saturday-cutenessKevin & I had never seen this little dog before and had no idea where he came from.  We asked around our neighborhood and no one claimed him so we (I) decided to call our local animal rescue.  Kevin: “Can we keep him?  He is such a good dog”.  Oh, I felt like a mother saying “no” to a little boy.  Why must I be the bad guy?  It isn’t that I didn’t want him, it was the fact that we have another dog inside (who is not a fan of other dogs) not to mention that we would totally have to re-fence our backyard, take the dog to the vet, feed the dog, walk the dog, etc.  We are barely home enough to see the one dog we do have.

buddy1Our dog, Buddy, sleeps probably 21 hours out of 24 hours a day.  He is the laziest dog I know, but he is also older, has bad joints, and is ALWAYS cold (hence the blankets and heating pad).

So after about 3 1/2 hours, animal rescue finally showed up.  During the time we had him, we played with him, rubbed his belly and he loved on us.  As I rubbed his ears and pet his head, he looked up at me with the most loving eyes.  It was so hard to stay firm on my decision.  In addition, the poor dog looked like he had not been fed in days. His stomach, hips and hind leg areas were so thin.   He scarfed down 4 bowls of dog food over a period of 3 hours.  It was like a dog food commercial!  In then end, I had really turned soft and did not want to give him away but knew that it was the best decision for him and that he would find a loving family of his own.

4 Responses to “The Sweetest Dog”


  1. 1 brannyboilsover February 23, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    My husband always asks me tough questions to make me the bad guy, too! That certainly is a sweet pic of your visitor (and Buddy, too!). Hope the story ends up happily.

  2. 2 feastonthis February 23, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Branny- why do men do that? I told Kevin that I always feel like the firm one in our relationship. What I do know about our animal shelter is that the animals go to a place called “Pet Helpers” that make owners go through an adoption process before they can take a pet home. Consultants visit prospective owners homes, interview them, ask tons of questions…kind of like adopting a baby. This makes me feel so much better!

  3. 3 Laura February 23, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    poor dog! I hope he’s able to find a good home!

  4. 4 YourHusband March 19, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Why do men do that???? I knew we couldn’t keep him – I couldn’t call because he could JUMP THE FENCE! Get back to work!


Leave a Reply

