Antioxidants and Protein

blueberry-yogurt-muffins I have been on a muffin kick lately.  Every weekend I whip up a new batch of muffins to enjoy all week long.  After church on Sunday, Kevin and I stopped into Whole Foods.  They had some beautiful fresh blueberries on sale, so I picked up a few packages.  I knew right away that I wanted to make blueberry muffins for breakfast when we got home.

With everything I make, I try to pack as many nutrients possible into that particular thing whether it be a soup, bread, cookie, or in this case a muffin.  My daily goal is to track how many complex carbohydrates, vegetables, fruits, proteins, and good fats I consume and see how close I come to the recommended daily amounts.  It is so much fun that it is like a game.  (Wow…I sound like a nerd! :))

These muffins pack antioxidants from blueberries, protein from Greek yogurt and egg whites as well as healthy fat from the light olive oil, and wholegrain goodness from the organic whole wheat pastry flour.  These muffins tend to be less sweet and more like the sweetness you get from a biscuit while still having a tender, soft and moist crumb.

Blueberry Protein Muffins

makes 12 muffins; serving size 1 muffin

Ingredients

1/4 c. liquid egg whites

1 c. plain Greek yogurt, I used Oikos

1/4 c. milk, I used Stoneyfield Organic Fat Free Milk

3 tablespoons extra light olive oil

3 tablespoons agave nectar, organic light

2 tablespoons flax seed

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat pastry flour, organic

1 c. blueberries

1/4 c. almonds, roasted & ground

Topping, same recipe used here

Method

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare muffin tins with muffin papers or non stick spray.

Sift together flours, baking powder, and salt. Add flax seed, almonds, and blueberries.  Set aside.

Mix together wet ingredients with a whisk then add all at once to the flour mixture.  Gently fold together mixture with a spatula until just mixed and no flour remains taking care not to mash the blueberries.  Mixture will be very thick.

Fill greased/ lined muffin tins with mixture and sprinkle with topping, if desired.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Makes about 12 muffins.

*I filled my muffin tins completely full.

Nutritional Information (based on brands & ingredients I used): 134 calories; 5.4 g. fat; 17.2 g. carb; 2.4 g. fiber; 5.2 g. protein

1 Response to “Antioxidants and Protein”


  1. 1 Erin February 23, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    These sound INCREDIBLE healthy, and therefore, right up my alley! I prefer my muffins to be really healthy, and nowhere near tasting like a cupcake. I’ll have to make these sometime! PS. check out my muffin tag in my blog if you want some more muffin inspiration! The “Brantastic” ones I’ve made in the different variations.


Leave a Reply

