Overnight Cinnamon Rolls

iced-cinnamon-rolls

I have always been on the hunt for a great, easy cinnamon roll recipe. I used many great recipes in culinary school but I always thought they were missing something. After watching this recipe pop up in many blogs that I read, I thought I would give it a try. I am so glad that I did because they were the BEST cinnamon rolls that I have had to date. They are seriously worth every calorie, considering that I don’t eat them for breakfast everyday and that I only make them for special occasions.

Did I have a special occasion to make these cinnamon rolls for? Nope, not this time. I made them simply because Kevin & I made a pact that we would not go out to eat for the entire month of January. (Very hard to do but I’ll have to save that story for another time).

Instead of going out to breakfast after church on Sunday, I came home and popped these babies in the oven. They were so delicious and better than any cinnamon roll that I had ever had at any restaurant or bakery. They were buttery, flaky and very light. It was like eating a cloud…a really, really good cloud. I could have eaten half of the pan myself, but I would have also had to run 10 miles to pay for it. So with a little self control I only had two.

cinnamon-rolls-inside1

You can find the original recipe here as Alton Brown does a great job at giving directions. The only thing that I changed was the length of proofing the cinnamon rolls in the morning. The recipe states to remove the rolls from the refrigerator and place in an oven that is off with a pan of boiling water below them. I placed my cinnamon rolls, still wrapped in plastic wrap, in my cold oven with a pan of boiling water on the rack below them. I set the timer for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes I removed the pan of boiling water, dumped the water, added new boiling water & put back into the oven for an additional 30 minutes for a total of 1 hour proof time. I then followed the directions from this point as stated by Alton Brown.

proofed-cinnamon-rolls1

baked-cinnamon-rolls1

Just a side note as well, these cinnamon rolls taste just as good the next day and the next until they are gone. I like to microwave a cup of water until hot, then add my cinnamon roll to the microwave (with the cup of water) and reheat for 20 seconds until warm again. This moisture from the hot cup of water helps keep the cinnamon roll tender and soft.

Source: Food Network

0 Responses to “Overnight Cinnamon Rolls”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

