Morning Glory

sunday-breakfast

This past Sunday Kevin and I slept in really late…until 10:30 a.m!  It was so nice.  We went to church on Saturday night, so Sunday we caught up on some much needed sleep.  While I was hungry when we woke up, I didn’t want to make a huge Sunday breakfast since I knew we were going to have such a large feast later for the super bowl.  I decided to make these morning glory muffins for brunch instead since they are my favorite to get every time I stop into Whole Foods.  I made a few adjustments to the recipe based on the ingredients I had in the house.  We ate our muffins with some fresh fruit salad and a cup of delicious coffee!

Whole Grain Morning Glory Muffins

makes 16 muffins

Ingredients

1 1/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar (I used granulated sugar)
1/4 cup packed natural brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
2/3 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Fuji apple, cored, peeled and diced (I omitted this)
1/2 cup seedless raisins
1/2 cup grated carrots
1/4 cup plus 4 teaspoons dried flaked unsweetened coconut, divided
1/2 cup walnuts, finely chopped (I used pecans instead)

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, cane sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; break up any brown sugar lumps with your fingers or a wooden spoon. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, oil and vanilla, then add to flour mixture and stir just until combined. Add apples, raisins, carrots, 1/4 cup of the coconut and walnuts, and stir gently until well combined. Spoon batter into 16 paper-lined muffin tins, filling each about 2/3 full. Top evenly with remaining 4 teaspoons coconut and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until cooked through.

Source: Whole Foods Market

1 Response to “Morning Glory”


  1. 1 Mary Ellen February 19, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    This look really good. I don’t like to bake but I think I need to try these.


Leave a Reply

