A whole new day

cameliaThe sun is actually out today, surprisingly.  I feel like I have only seen bits and pieces of the sun the past week.  I guess it could be worse.  I could be up north where the temperatures are in the teens and have ice hanging off of my trees.  Or my power could be out and I could be freezing my butt off, which wouldn’t be so bad if it made my butt go away.   We’re pretty lucky to have warmer temperatures in the 50’s here in South Carolina today.

Kevin woke me up early this morning to make him breakfast.  I had this crazy idea last night that I would get up early and make him pancakes.  Why don’t I know any better by now that I am NOT a morning person?  I think I could be a morning person if I actually went to bed before 10pm, but that never happens even if I plan ahead.  So I dragged my butt out of bed to the kitchen, with my eyes squinting because the light was so bright, and began reading my recipe for pancakes.  Within ten minutes I had coffee going and my kitchen filled with the aroma of fluffly pancakes!

After Kevin left for work I got started on my breakfast….pumpkin oatmeal.  I have had this addiction with oatmeal lately.  I don’t know what the cause is for this fetish, but I look forward to my oats every morning.  Oatmeal is like a blank canvas.  You can put anything on it.  This morning my bowl looked like this:

pumpkin-oats

It was filled with 1/3 c oats, 2/3 c water, 1/4 c pumpkin, 1 tsp maple syrup, 1 T flax seed, 1 T wheat berries and topped with 2 T plain Greek yogurt and 1 T raw almond butter.  Oh, and a few butterscotch chips.  Mmmm!

After breakfast I left for the grocery to pick up a few last minute items needed for this weekends Super Bowl snacks.  I know that the stores are going to be CRAZY later, so I am not even going to attempt leaving the house.  On the menu for Sunday is: homemade salsa, guacamole & blue corn flax seed tortilla chips along with grilled black bean quesadillas and beer for Kevin.   I am going to re-create the fattening version into a lighter fare so we don’t fall into a Super Bowl coma.  It is bad enough that we are going to be sitting on the couch for a few hours.  Better get that cardio in!

The agenda for the rest of the day:

1. 1 hour of cardio on the elliptical

2. Strength training for back and biceps.

3. Pick up a movie for tonight.

4. Tidy up the house as well as fold laundry

5. Start calzone dough for dinner.

6. Take Buddy for a walk since the sun is out.

0 Responses to “A whole new day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

