Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Sundae

chocolate-sundaeI have had a container of heavy cream sitting in my fridge, unopened for a few weeks.  I had no idea why I bought such a large container since I had no plan of what to do with it.  Now that I am eating healthier and choosing very carefully what I put into my body, I have not wanted to use the heavy cream.  I have just felt so good overall that I was afraid that the high fat would send my body into a “fat” shock.  What could I do with it?  Knowing that Kevin loves homemade vanilla ice cream I decided that was just what I would make.  So here you have it.  A “no cook” vanilla bean ice cream that takes less than 10 minutes to put together, but is also very smooth and creamy. Come on, I had to at least have a bite to make sure it was safe. :)

I apologize about the blurry picture.  Real ice cream melts fast!

Thank you to Annie over at Annie’s Eats for making Cherry Garcia ice cream.  Her beautiful ice cream was my inspiration for this recipe.

Kevin doctored his up with Oreo’s and chocolate syrup.

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Adapted from this recipe.  I changed amounts & ingredients based on what I had in my refrigerator.

Ingredients:

2 large eggs

3/4 cup sugar

2  1/4 cups heavy cream

3/4 c. skim milk

1 tsp. vanilla bean paste

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Method

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs.  Add in sugar and both vanilla’s, whisking until sugar begins to dissolve into the eggs.  (I probably whisked my egg/ sugar mixture for at least 5 minutes by hand).  Whisk in cold heavy cream & milk.  Pour mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Store in the freezer until ready to enjoy.

0 Responses to “Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Sundae”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

